festival
area

The exhibition buildings of the LUMIX Festival for Young Photojournalism are located on the former world exhibition EXPO 2000 grounds on the outskirts of Hanover and within walking distance from the Design Center, the vibrating heart of the festival. The tickets will only be available at the ticket office in the Design Center of the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Hannover. With the map handed out at the ticket office in the Design Center and the signposts installed at the area you can hardly get lost.

On this page we inform you about all exhibition buildings and provide you with the festival map. During the festival you can get our festival flyers with a map at the info-points in the Design Center.

design
center

The Design Center is the home of the Design & Media department of the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Hannover and thus it is also the workplace of the Hanoverian photo students. In the headquarters of the festival about 10 photo exhibitions will be shown and the evening events with world stars of the photojournalist scene will be taking place here. In addition to that, there is a technique showroom for all kinds of exhibitors from the imaging sector in the atrium, a bistro and numerous lectures and discussions.

Photo: Insa Hagemann

The Skywalk with its 450 meters of length, connecting the parking lots on the Expo area with the fairground, turns into a top gallery. The Deutsche Messe AG, one of the biggest international trade fair organizers, provides the Skywalk for the Lumix Festival for Young Photojournalism. Like all other exhibition locations, the Skywalk is in a walking distance from the center of the festival, the Design Center. 

Photo: Stefanie Preuin

sky
walk

gärten
des
wandels

After the successful introduction at the 4th LUMIX Festival we will continue the outdoor exhibition concept this year. The Gärten im Wandel (Gardens in Transition) were planted as part of the 2000 World Expo in Hannover. Originally planned as a modern, green rest area for footsore Expo visitors, the gardens will now be given new life with more than 200 photographs.

Photo: Emile Ducke

Since June 2011 the Planet MID, the former Bertelsmann Pavilion has been the new location of the University of Applied Sciences at the Expo Plaza. This is where Lower Saxony‘s Centre for Media, Information and Design was created. We are planning shows and podium discussions on current topics in photography to take place in this extraordinary space – called the “flying saucer” for its futuristic architecture. Multimedia reportages will be shown in the spherical auditorium. 

Photo: Jonas Wresch

planet
mid

camp
media

Apart from the Multimedia vocational school, the building next to the Design Center contains the modern office center CampMedia of »hannoverimpuls«. CampMedia was opened in October 2001 and offers office premises to young and innovative enterprises.

Foto: Sebi Berens

We are pleased to have the Klingenberg company as a cooperation-partner this year. Klingenberg is the adress for exclusive design furniture, for rentals and purchases, and located on the Expo grounds since 2010. Klingenberg will support the LUMIX Festival with both, exclusive furniture and exhibition space.

Photo: Sebi Berens

klingen
berg

bmw
center

Again we are very happy to announce that the BMW exhibition area enriches the LUMIX Festival. Parallel to the permanent car show we have the opportunity to show parts of the exhibition on all five festival days. At EXPO 2000 the building was called 'Postbox' and inherences BMW since 2007.

Photo: Bianca Meyer

Again this year we are granted the opportunity to exhibit photos in the former Czech Pavilion. Besides Eduard Matthai, a globally acting specialist in natural and exact colour display of hair colors, the pavilion houses the Umweltdruckerei, which support the LUMIX Festival with exhibition space and by printing our marketing material.

Photo: Anna-Christina Bauer

czech
pavilion

richard
kühn
house

This modern building is the first built after the Expo 2000 building and located like all our venues - on the former Expo site near the Design Center. 2006 the PERFEKTA group opened the Richard Kühn Haus. The namesake Richard Kühn laid the foundations of the company in 1921 with its first factory for chemical-technical specialty products, and has grown to now twelve divisions - from cleaning to building playgrounds - and more than 20 locations.

Photo: Maximilian von Lachner

There is a novelty at the 5th LUMIX Festival: In the Container Village at the Expo Plaza news-papers, magazines, institutions, collectives and projects present themselves and their work. Come and meet the following »villagers«: University of Applied Sciences and Arts Hanover, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Bielefeld, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Dortmund, Danish School of Media and Journalism, Cameo Magazine, Cartel Collective, Hannoversche Allgemeine Zeitung, Stern Magazine and World Press Photo Foundation. An integral feature of the village is the open stage with presentations, discussions, artists’ talks and workshops.

container
village

festival
gelände

Die Ausstellungsgebäude des Festivals für jungen Fotojournalismus stehen alle auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Weltausstellung EXPO 2000 am Stadtrand von Hannover und sind vom Zentrum des Festivals, dem Design Center, gut zu Fuß zu erreichen. Die Eintrittskarten erhalten Sie ausschließlich an den Kassen im Eingangsbereich des Design Centers der Hochschule Hannover. Ausgerüstet mit dem Geländeplan, den Sie auch an den Kassen erhalten, und den Pfeilen, die auf dem ganzen Areal zu den nächsten Ausstellungsorten weisen, können Sie sich kaum verlaufen.

Auf unserem Lageplan erhalten Sie einen guten Überblick über unsere Ausstellungsorte, die wir weiter unten auf dieser Seite vorstellen. Während des Festivals erhalten Sie unsere Festival-Flyer mit Lageplan an den Infopoints im Design Center.

 

 

design
center

Im Design Center ist die Abteilung Design und Medien der HS Hannover beheimatet und so ist es auch der Arbeitsplatz der hannoverschen Fotostudenten. In der Zentrale des Festival-Geschehens werden etwa 10 Fotoausstellungen gezeigt und die abendlichen Veranstaltungen mit Weltstars der Fotojournalisten-Szene stattfinden. Dazu gibt es im Atrium die Fototechnik-Schau, ein Bistro und zahlreiche Vorträge.

Foto: Insa Hagemann

Der 450 Meter lange Skywalk, der die Parkplätze auf der Expo-Seite mit dem Messegelände verbindet, wird eine Galerie der Superlative. Die Deutsche Messe AG, einer der größten internationalen Messeveranstalter, stellt den Skywalk für das Lumix Festival für jungen Fotojournalimus zur Verfügung. Wie alle anderen Ausstellungsorte ist der Skywalk vom Zentrum des Festivals, dem Design-Center, nach einem nur kurzen Fußweg zu erreichen. 

Foto: Stefanie Preuin

sky
walk

gärten
des
wandels

Die Gärten im Wan­del wur­den zur Welt­aus­stellung im Jahr 2000 an­ge­legt. Ur­sprünglich als grüner und mo­der­ner Pau­sen­ort für laufmüde Expo-­Be­su­cher ge­dacht, wer­den sie in die­sem Jahr erneut mit unserem erfolgreichen Außenausstellungskonzept zu neu­em Le­ben erweckt. 

Foto: Emile Ducke

Das Planet MID, der ehemalige Bertelsmann-Pavillon ist seit Juni 2011 der neue Hochschule-Standort an der Expo Plaza, in dem das Niedersächsische Zentrum für Medien, Information und Design entstanden ist. In dem futuristischen Bau – wegen seiner Architektur „fliegende Untertasse genannt – sind Podiumsdiskussionen zu den aktuellen Fotothemen sowie Symposien und eine Ausstellung der internationalen Fotohochschule geplant und im sphärischen Kinosaal werden Multimedia-Reportagen gezeigt.

Foto: Jonas Wresch

planet
mid

camp
media

Auch in diesem Jahr steht uns wieder das Gebäude der CampMedia zur Verfügung. In dem Gebäude direkt neben dem Design-Center befindet sich außer der Multimedia Berufsbildenden Schule das moderne Bürocenter CampMedia von hannoverimpuls. CampMedia wurde im Oktober 2001 eröffnet und bietet jungen innovativen Unternehmen Büroräume und einen MeetingPoint.

Foto: Sebi Berens

Wir freuen uns dieses Jahr die Firma Klingenberg als neuen Kooperationspartner gewonnen zu haben. Die Firma Klingenberg ist seit 2010 auf dem ehemaligen Expo Gelände beheimatet und Ihr Ansprechpartner für exklusive Designmöbel, sowohl zur Miete als auch zum Verkauf, und wird das LUMIX Festival mit Möbeln und Ausstellungsflächen unterstützen.

Foto: Sebi Berens

klingen
berg

bmw
center

Auch dieses Jahr bereichert die BMW Niederlassung das LUMIX Festival wieder als ungewöhnliche Ausstellungsfläche. Neben der dort dauerhaft stattfindenden Automobilschau werden an den fünf Festivaltagen Ausstellungen gezeigt. Während der Expo hieß das  gradlinige Gebäude 'Postbox' und beherbergt die BMW NL seit dem Jahr 2007.

Foto: Bianca Meyer

Auch in diesem Jahr erhalten wir wieder die Möglichkeit, Ausstellungen im ehemals tschechischem Pavillon zu zeigen. Neben der Firma Eduard Matthai, ein weltweit agierender Spezialist in der natürlichen und exakten Farbdarstellung von Haarfarben, ist hier nun auch die Umweltdruckerei zu Haus, die uns neben dem gewährten Obdach auch bei unseren gedruckten Werbemitteln unterstützt.

Foto: Anna-Christina Bauer

tschech
ischer
pavillon

richard
kühn
haus

Dieses architektonisch moderne Bauwerk ist das erste nach der Weltausstellung errichtete Gebäude und befindet sich – wie alle unsere Ausstellungsorte - auf dem ehemaligen Expo-Gelände nahe des Design Centers. 2006 erfolgte die feierliche Einweihung des Richard Kühn Haus durch die PERFEKTA Unternehmensgruppe. Der Namensgeber Richard Kühn legte im Jahr 1921 mit seiner ersten Fabrik für chemisch-technische Spezialprodukte den Grundstein für das Unternehmen, das heute auf zwölf Geschäftsbereiche - von der Gebäudereinigung zum Spielplatzbau – und über 20 Standorte angewachsen ist.

Foto: Maximilian von Lachner

Beim 5. LUMIX Festival gibt es neue Präsentationsflächen: Im Container-Dorf auf der Expo Plaza stellen sich Zeitungen, Magazine, Institutionen, Kollektive und Projekte vor. Folgende »Dorfbewohner« freuen sich über Ihren Besuch: Hochschule Hannover, Fachhochschule Dortmund, Fachhochschule Bielefeld, Danish School of Media and Journalism, Cameo-Magazin, Cartel Collective, Hannoversche Allgemeine Zeitung, Stern und World Press Photo Foundation. Integraler Bestandteil des Dorfes ist eine Bühne, auf der Vorträge, Diskussionsrunden, Künstlergespräche und Workshops stattfinden.

container
dorf