LUMIX
FESTIVAL
N°6

The LUMIX Festival for Young Photojournalism attests to the power of photojournalism in our image-oriented world. Fundamentally influencing our perception of humanity in all its facets, photojournalism contributes to our education and sensitization, rouses our emotion, and enables us to share.

The Association for the Promotion of Photography in Hanover organizes the LUMIX Festival in cooperation with the photojournalism and documentary photography study course at the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Hanover, Faculty III, Media, Information and Design and with the support of the German photojournalist association FREELENS for the 6th time.

All students and professional photojournalists under the age of 35 are welcome to submit their work for the 6th LUMIX Festival and based on those submissions 60 photojournalists will be invited to exhibit their work during the festival. The exhibitions accompanies an attractive program which includes portfolio-reviews, lectures, panel-discussions, guided tours and a photo fair.

The highlights of each festival day are the evening lectures delivered by internationally renowned photographers. The end of the festival is marked by the closing party on Saturday evening, which hosts the granting ceremonies of the FREELENS Award, the LUMIX Multimedia Award, the Lammerhuber Photography Award, the HAZ Audience Award, and the sustainability award.

The festival aims to be a platform for discussions, a picture show and a talent forum that appeals to professional picture editors and an interested expert audience as well as those who simply love photography.

LUMIX
FESTIVAL
N°6

Das LUMIX Festival für jungen Fotojournalismus zeugt von der Kraft des Fotojournalismus in einer bildorientierten Welt. Es zeigt Bilder, die das Leben der Menschheit in all seinen Facetten kommunizieren und unsere Wahrnehmung von der Welt prägen. Damit trägt es zur Aufklärung und Bewusstseinsbildung bei, rührt Menschen emotional an und lässt sie Anteil nehmen.

Bereits zum sechsten Mal organisiert der Verein zur Förderung der Fotografie in Hannover e.V. in Kooperation mit dem Studiengang Fotojournalismus und Dokumentarfotografie der Hochschule Hannover, Fakultät III, Medien, Information und Design das LUMIX Festival auf dem ehemaligen Expo-Gelände der Landeshauptstadt. Unterstützt werden wir dabei von der deutschen Fotojournalistinnen- und Fotojournalisten-Vereinigung FREELENS.

Studierende und professionelle Fotoreporterinnen und -reporter aus aller Welt können sich bis zum Alter von 35 Jahren für die Teilnahme am 6. Festival bewerben. 80 von ihnen werden eingeladen, ihre Bilder und Multimedia-Projekte auszustellen. Portfolio-Sichtungen, Vorträge, Podiumsdiskussionen und eine Fototechnik-Schau bieten ein abwechslungsreiches Rahmenprogramm.

Höhepunkt eines jeden Festivaltages sind jeweils die abendlichen Vorträge international bedeutender Fotografinnen und Fotografen. Den Abschluss des Festivals am Samstag bilden die Festival-Party sowie die Verleihung des FREELENS Awards, des LUMIX Multimedia Awards, des Lammerhuber Awards, des HAZ-Publikumspreises sowie des Nachhaltigkeitspreises.

Das Festival soll Diskussionsplattform, Bilderschau und Talentforum zugleich sein – für professionelle Bildredakteurinnen und -redakteure, Fachpublikum und alle Fotografieinteressierte.