upcoming

Welcome to the 6th LUMIX Festival for Young Photojournalism.
More information coming soon.

LUMIX
festival

The LUMIX Festival for Young Photojournalism attests to the power of photojournalism in our image-oriented world. Fundamentally influencing our perception of humanity in all its facets, photojournalism contributes to our education and sensitization, rouses our emotion, and enables us to share.

The photojournalism and documentary photography study course at the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Hanover organizes the LUMIX Festival in cooperation with the Association for the Promotion of Photography in Hanover and with the support of the German photojournalist association FREELENS. In 2016 numerous reportages and picture essays will be presented in the futuristic pavilions of the Expo area. At the heart of the festival is the Design Center, headquarters for the Hanoverian photojournalism students. Like all of the festival’s exhibition pavilions, the Design Center is located at the former Expo 2000 grounds.

All students and professional photojournalists under the age of 35 are welcome to submit their work for the 5th LUMIX festival and based on those submissions 60 photojournalists will be invited to exhibit their work during the festival. The exhibitions accompany an attractive program which includes portfolio-reviews, lectures, panel-discussions, guided tours and a technique showroom.

The highlights of each festival day are the evening lectures delivered by internationally renowned photographers. The end of the festival is marked by the closing party on Saturday evening, which hosts the granting ceremonies of the FREELENS Award, the LUMIX Multimedia Award, the Lammerhuber Photography Award and the HAZ Audience Award.

The festival aims to be a platform for discussions, a picture show and a talent forum that appeals to professional picture editors and an interested expert audience as well as those who simply love photography.

thank
you

We say thanks for five exciting and eventful days at the Expo Plaza and another successful and record breaking 5th LUMIX Festival for Young Photojournalism:

More than 1200 applications
Over 40.000 visitors
10 Exhibition Venues
6 Awards with a total prize money of 34.000 Euros
80 Exhibitions
A new installed Container-Village with an interesting additional program
8 Lectures, Discussions and Symposiums
An international meeting of photo universities
Over 100 Portfolio-Reviews and much more.

We thank all exhibiting photographers, visitors, partners and sponsors who took part in making the 5th LUMIX Festival once again a great success. 

A special thanks goes to our team of photo students, who worked voluntarily and with a great spirit to realize the festival. Thank you!

Impressions from all five festival days can be found on our facebook page.

Studying in Hannover: www.fotostudenten.de

ausblick

An dieser Stelle informieren wir in Kürze über die nächste Ausgabe des LUMIX Festivals.

LUMIX
festival

Das LUMIX Festival für jungen Fotojournalismus in Hannover zeugt von der Kraft des Fotojournalismus in einer bildorientierten Welt. Es zeigt Bilder, die das Leben der Menschheit in all seinen Facetten kommunizieren und unsere Wahrnehmung von der Welt prägen. Damit trägt es zur Aufklärung und Bewusstseinsbildung bei, rührt Menschen emotional an und lässt sie Anteil nehmen.

Der Studiengang Fotojournalismus und Dokumentarfotografie der Hochschule Hannover und der Verein zur Förderung der Fotografie in Hannover e.V. sind die Organisatoren des Festivals. Unterstützt werden sie von der deutschen Fotojournalistinnen- und Fotojournalisten-Vereinigung FREELENS. In 2016 wurden in den futuristischen Pavillons auf dem ehemaligen Expo-Gelände 60 Reportagen und Bildessays präsentiert. Zentrum des Festivals ist das Design Center, Ausbildungsstätte der hannoverschen Fotojournalismus-Studierenden und wie alle Ausstellungs-Pavillons ebenfalls auf dem Gelände der Expo 2000 gelegen.

Studierende und professionelle Fotoreporter aus aller Welt konnten sich bis zum Alter von 35 Jahren für die Teilnahme am 5. Festival bewerben. 60 von ihnen wurden eingeladen, ihre Bilder auszustellen. Portfolio-Sichtungen, Vorträge, Podiumsdiskussionen und eine Fototechnik-Schau bieten ein abwechslungsreiches Rahmenprogramm.

Höhepunkt eines jeden Festivaltages sind jeweils die abendlichen Vorträge international bedeutender Fotografen. Den Abschluss des Festivals am Samstag bilden die Festival-Party sowie die Verleihung des FREELENS Awards, des LUMIX Multimedia Awards, des Lammerhuber Awards und des HAZ-Publikumspreises.

Das Festival soll Diskussionsplattform, Bilderschau und Talentforum zugleich sein – für professionelle Bildredakteure, Fachpublikum und alle Fotointeressierte.

rückblick

Wir sagen Danke für fünf spannende und ereignisreiche Tage auf der Expo Plaza und ein
5. LUMIX Festival für jungen Fotojournalismus, das erneut alle Rekorde brechen konnte:

Über 1200 Bewerbungen
Mehr als 40.000 Besucher
Insgesamt 10 Ausstellungsorte
6 Awards mit einem Preisgeld von insgesamt 34.000 Euro
80 Ausstellungen
Ein neu errichtetes Container-Dorf mit spannendem Programm
8 Vorträge von berühmten Fotografen, Diskussionsrunden und Symposien
Über 100 Portfolio-Sichtungen und vielem mehr.

Wir bedanken uns bei allen ausstellenden Fotografen, Besuchern, unseren Partnern und Sponsoren die das 5. LUMIX Festival möglich gemacht und zum erneutem Erfolg des Festivals beigetragen haben.

Unser besonderer Dank gilt unserem unermüdlichen Team aus Fotostudenten, das mit vollem Einsatz und bester Stimmung ehrenamtlich das 5. LUMIX Festival für jungen Fotojournalismus möglich gemacht haben. Vielen Dank!

Impressionen von allen fünf Festivaltagen finden Sie auf unserer Facebook-Seite.

Die abendlichen Vorträge des 5. LUMIX Festivals für jungen Fotojournalismus präsentieren wir in Kürze.

Informationen zum Studium in Hannover finden Sie hier: www.fotostudenten.de