FREELENS
AWARD

FREELENS, the largest German organization of photojournalists, presents the FREELENS Award for the 6th LUMIX Festival for Young Photojournalism. The best 60 bodies of work will be selected by a our curating team to be exhibited in several pavilions and an open-air-exhibition on the expo grounds during the festival. The prize of EUR 10,000 goes to the most impressive work of all festival exhibitions. Two »Honourable Mentions« will also be awarded and include a prize of EUR 1,000 each.

The winner of the three prizes will be chosen by an international jury of renowned experts from the photojournalism scene. The granting of the FREELENS Award will take place on Saturday, 23th of June 2018, during the closing party of the festival.

Florian Müller

»Hashtags Unplugged - Von Lastern und Leitmotiven«

#hashtags- they are indispensable in social media. From #nofilter to #veganfood, there is a fitting hashtag for every post. In his photo series »Hashtags Unplugged«, Florian Müller shows what hides behind this world and how users fulfil their longing for attention.

Elena Anosova / Honourable Mention

»Out of the Way«

The photographer’s ancestors came to Siberia 300 years ago and established a village in the taiga. Nowadays, 100 adults live in the village; they are all distantly related. Far from civilization and surrounded by wilderness, family and tradition are more important to them than any form of progress.

Esa Ylijaasko / Honourable Mention

»November Is a Beginning«

Far from the horrors of the civil war, a group of Kurdish-Syrian refugees found a new home. For four years, they lived in dilapidated houses around the Süleymaniye Mosque in Istanbul. Esa Ylijaasko shows us their lives and opens a window onto another world.

Ezra Acayan / Honourable Mention

»Duterte's War on Drugs Is Not Over«

More than 16,000 dead – this is the result of a two-year war on drugs in the Philippines. Rodrigo Duterte, President of the south-east Asian republic, has been waging this war since 2016. In his election campaign, he promised to combat drugs with all possible means.

Lammer
huber
award

The Lammerhuber Photography Award, which is endowed by the publishing house EDITION LAMMERHUBER, was established at the 3rd LUMIX Festival in 2012 for the first time. The prize honoures the reportage or series of the Festival that tells the most impressive story of everyday life.

The Lammerhuber Photography Award underlines the philosophy of the LUMIX Festival, which is that the aim of humanist photojournalism should be to examine all facets of life. The prize is endowed with EUR 5,000.

The photographer and publisher Lois Lammerhuber is one of the most outstanding personalities in photography in his home country of Austria. In addition to several prizes for his work in photography, he has won numerous awards for his photo books over the past years. In 2013, Edition Lammerhuber was acclaimed the Best Publishing House for Photobooks, won again in 2015 in the category nature photography and was awarded the Best Publishing House for Photobooks again 2017 at the FEP European Photo Book of the Year Awards.

Aleksi Poutanen

»Fellow Creatures«

Finland has always had a special relationship between people and animals. Aleksi Poutanen shows how this symbiosis has been preserved in the 21st century. It would seem that anything – be it a dog, an alpaca or a stuffed and mounted wolf – can be found in Finnish living rooms.

LUMIX
multimedia
award

Panasonic sponsors for the 6th time the LUMIX Multimedia Award which includes a prize money of 5,000 Euro for the best journalistic multimedia production. Increasingly, photojournalists have sought to expand the possibilities of photojournalism by incorporating multimedia into their work and adding new narrative layers beyond photography. Since the 3rd LUMIX Festival we have offered a platform and support for this new way of storytelling in cooperation with Panasonic.

Our curating team will choose around 20 of the best multimedia stories that will be shown at the festival, out of which a jury of multimedia experts will choose the winner of the LUMIX Multimedia Award. The granting of the LUMIX Multimedia Award will take place on Saturday, 23rd of June 2018, during the closing party of the festival.

Kyrre Lien

»The Internet Warriors«

Who are the people who release their rage on the internet? Why do they harass others, threaten them and take freedom of speech to the very limit? More than a third of us take part in online debates. This is the result of a study by the American polling institute known as the Pew Research Centre. Over the past three years, Norwegian photojournalist Kyrre Lien has met with several of the most active online commentators. Come and meet these internet warriors in their own cave.

Ann Sophie Lindström / Honourable Mention

»The Bitter with the Sweet«

The no-longer-young cowboy Ricky, 62, and the eloquent Gretchen, 55, have been a couple since 2008. Marked by personal wounds from times gone by, their relationship is an emotional roller coaster caught in the field of tension between dependence and love. This intimate documentary film takes viewers on an emotional journey from tenderly beautiful moments to complete rage and invites us to think about our own relationships, triggers and feelings.

HAZ
Audience
Award

As in previous years, the Hannoversche Allgemeine Zeitung (HAZ), the biggest regional newspaper, donates the HAZ Audience Award endowed with EUR 1.000. During the festival you can cast your vote for your favorite story at the info-point in the Design Center. The voting ends on Saturday, 23rd June 2018 at 6pm. When you vote you are automatically entered into a raffle and given the chance to win one of three LUMIX cameras donated by Panasonic. The granting ceremony will be on Saturday, 23rd June 2018, during the festivals closing party.

 

Elias Holzknecht

»Josef«

Since 1978, Josef has lived alone in his old farmhouse in the Austrian town of Längenfeld. His life has not changed much. He has neither running water, nor proper heating. This is a look back to a time that actually lies far behind us.

sustain
ability
award

In cooperation with the LUMIX Festival dieUmweltDruckerei sponsors the »Sustainability Award« for the second time this year. The price endowed with 1.000 Euro honors the reportage or series of the festival that tells the most impressive story focusing on environmental and social issues. dieUmweltDruckerei wants to support photographers who discuss environmental and socially relevant topics and help to improve the general understanding of complex subjects through their work.

The winner will be announced on Saturday, 23rd of June 2018, during the closing party of the festival.

Zen Lefort

»Standing Rock«

Ihr heiliges Mutterland am Missouri in North Dakota sehen die Lakota-Sioux-Indianer durch den Bau einer Ölpipeline, der schwarzen Schlange, bedroht. Ureinwohner aller Stämme formieren sich Seite an Seite mit Umweltschützern und Menschenrechtsaktivisten im Standing-Rock-Reservat zum Protest.

FREELENS
AWARD

FREELENS, die größte deutsche Fotojournalisten-Organisation, schreibt für das 6. LUMIX Festival für jungen Fotojournalismus erneut den FREELENS Award aus. Aus allen Einsendungen werden von einem Kuratorinnen- und Kuratorenteam die 60 besten Arbeiten ausgewählt die während des Festivals in mehreren Pavillons und einer Open-Air-Ausstellung auf dem ehemaligen Expo-Gelände ausgestellt werden. 

Der mit 10.000 Euro dotierte FREELENS Award geht an die beeindruckendste Arbeit unter allen Festivalausstellungen. Außerdem werden zum 6. LUMIX Festival zwei »Lobende Erwähnungen« mit einem Preisgeld von je 1.000 Euro prämiert.

Eine internationale Jury von ausgewiesenen Fachleuten der Fotojournalismus-Szene entscheidet über die Vergabe der Preise. Die Verleihung erfolgt auf der Abschlussparty des Festivals am Samstag.

Florian Müller

»Hashtags Unplugged - Von Lastern und Leitmotiven«

#hashtags – in den sozialen Medien sind sie unverzichtbar. Von #nofilter bis hin zu #veganfood finden wir zu jedem unserer Posts ein passendes. Was sich hinter dieser Welt verbirgt und wie die User ihre Sehnsucht nach Aufmerksamkeit stillen, zeigt Florian Müller mit seiner Fotoreihe »Hashtags Unplugged«.

Elena Anosova / Honourable Mention

»Out of the Way«

Die Vorfahren der Fotografin kamen vor 300 Jahren nach Sibirien und gründeten ein Dorf in der Taiga. Heutzutage leben in dem Dorf 100 Erwachsene und alle sind entfernte Verwandte. Isoliert von der Zivilisation und umgeben von der Wildnis sind die Familie und ihre Tradition für sie wichtiger als jeglicher Fortschritt.

Esa Ylijaasko / Honourable Mention

»November Is a Beginning«

Weit weg von den Schrecken des Bürgerkriegs hat eine Gruppe syrisch-kurdischer Flüchtlinge ein neues Zuhause gefunden: Vier Jahre lebten sie in runtergekommenen Häusern rund um die Süleymaniye-Moschee in Istanbul.
Esa Ylijaasko zeigt ihr Leben und öffnet mit seinen Aufnahmen ein Fenster in eine andere Welt.

Ezra Acayan / Honourable Mention

»Duterte's War on Drugs Is Not Over«

Mehr als 16.000 Tote – das ist die Bilanz eines zweijährigen Krieges gegen Drogen auf den Philippinen. Rodrigo Duterte, Präsident der südostasiatischen Republik, führt ihn seit 2016. Sein Wahlversprechen war es, Drogen mit allen Mitteln zu bekämpfen.

lammer
huber
Award

Der vom Verlag EDITION LAMMERHUBER gestiftete Award wurde erstmalig im Rahmen des 3. LUMIX Festivals 2012 verliehen. Mit dem Award wird diejenige Reportage oder Serie des Festivals ausgezeichnet, die auf eindrucksvollste Weise eine Alltagsgeschichte erzählt.

Der Lammerhuber Photography Award unterstreicht die Philosophie des LUMIX Festivals, dass zu den Aufgaben eines humanistisch ausgerichteten Fotojournalismus eine breite Auseinandersetzung mit gesellschaftlichen Themen gehört. Der Preis ist mit 5.000 Euro dotiert.

Der österreichische Fotograf und Verleger Lois Lammerhuber gehört zu den herausragenden Fotografenpersönlichkeiten seines Landes. Neben zahlreichen Preisen für seine fotografische Arbeit hat er in den letzten Jahren viele Auszeichnungen für seine Fotobücher erhalten. So wurde die EDITION LAMMERHUBER bei den FEP European Photo Book of the Year Awards 2013 zum besten Fotobuchverlag Europas gekürt, siegte 2015 in der Kategorie Nature Photography und wurde 2017 mit Siegen in drei der sechs Kategorien erneut als bester Fotobuchverlag Europas ausgezeichnet.

Aleksi Poutanen

»Fellow Creatures«

In Finnland besteht seit jeher eine ganz besondere Beziehung zwischen Mensch und Tier. Aleksi Poutanen zeigt, wie dieses Zusammenleben im 21. Jahrhundert bewahrt wird. Ob Hund, Alpaka oder ausgestopfter Wolf – in finnischen Wohnzimmern ist scheinbar alles zu finden.

Lumix
Multimedia
Award

Panasonic stiftet zum 6. LUMIX Festival für jungen Fotojournalismus erneut den LUMIX Multimedia Award mit einem Preisgeld von 5.000 Euro für die beste ausgestellte, journalistische Multimedia-Produktion. Die Möglichkeit, Fotos mithilfe von Audio und Video weitere Erzählebenen hinzuzufügen, nutzen immer mehr Fotografinnen und Fotografen. Seit dem 3. LUMIX Festival möchten wir dafür eine Plattform bieten und diese multimediale Arbeitsweise zusammen mit Panasonic unterstützen und fördern.

Aus allen Einreichungen wird ein Kuratorinnen- und Kuratorenteam die etwa 20 besten Multimedia Stories auswählen, die während des 6. LUMIX Festivals gezeigt werden. Eine Fachjury wählt die beste Geschichte aus, die auf dem Festival mit dem LUMIX Multimedia Award ausgezeichnet wird.

Kyrre Lien

»The Internet Warriors«

Wer sind die Leute, die im Internet ihrer Wut freien Lauf lassen? Warum belästigen sie andere Menschen, bedrohen sie und reizen die Redefreiheit bis an ihre Grenzen aus? Mehr als ein Drittel von uns nehmen an Onlinedebatten teil. Das ergibt eine Recherche des US-amerikanischen Meinungsforschungsinstituts Pew Research Centre. Während der letzten drei Jahre hat der norwegische Fotojournalist Kyrre Lien einige der aktivsten Onlinekommentatoren getroffen. Treffen Sie die Internet-Krieger in ihrer eigenen Höhle.

Ann Sophie Lindström / Honourable Mention

»The Bitter with the Sweet«

Der in die Tage gekommene Cowboy Ricky, 62, und die wortgewandte Gretchen, 55, sind seit 2008 ein Paar. Geprägt durch persönliche Verletzungen aus vergangenen Zeiten, gestaltet sich die Beziehung für beide als emotionale Achterbahnfahrt im Spannungsfeld zwischen Abhängigkeit und Liebe. Der intime Dokumentarfilm nimmt den Betrachter mit auf eine emotionale Reise von zärtlich schönen Momenten, zu totaler Wut und lädt ein, über eigene Beziehungen, Auslöser und Gefühle nachzudenken.

HAZ
Publikums
preis

Auch beim 6. LUMIX Festival für jungen Fotojournalismus stiftet die Hannoversche Allgemeine Zeitung (HAZ) wieder den Publikumspreis, der mit 1.000 Euro dotiert ist. Alle Besucher des Festivals können per Stimmkarte für die Fotostrecke votieren, die sie am meisten berührt, begeistert oder unterhalten hat. Bis zum Samstag, den 23. Juni 2018 um 18 Uhr können die Stimmkarten am Info-Point im Design Center abgegeben werden. Der Publikumspreis wird wie alle anderen Preise auf der Abschlussparty gekürt, die am Samstag ab 20 Uhr stattfindet, ein Ort wird noch bekannt gegeben. Unter den Teilnehmern an der Abstimmung werden drei Lumix Kameras, die von Panasonic Deutschland gestiftet werden, verlost.

Elias Holzknecht

»Josef«

Josef lebt seit 1978 allein in seinem alten Bauernhaus im österreichischen Längenfeld. Seitdem hat sich sein Leben nicht viel verändert. Er hat weder fließend Wasser, noch eine funktionierende Heizung. Ein Rückblick in eine Zeit, die eigentlich schon längst hinter uns liegt.

nachhaltig
keitspreis

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem LUMIX Festival lobt dieUmweltDruckerei 2018 zum zweiten Mal den »Nachhaltigkeitspreis« aus. Der mit 1.000 Euro dotierte Preis zeichnet die Arbeit aus, die sich am eindrucksvollsten mit einem Thema aus den Bereichen Umwelt, Nachhaltigkeit und Soziales auseinandersetzt. dieUmweltDruckerei möchte hiermit Fotografen unterstützen, die sich mit umweltpolitisch, aber ebenso gesellschaftlich relevanten Themen beschäftigen und damit zu einem besseren Verständnis teils komplexer Thematiken beitragen.

Die Gewinnerin bzw. der Gewinner wird bei der Abschlussfeier am Samstag, den 23. Juni 2018 bekanntgegeben.

Zen Lefort

»Standing Rock«

Ihr heiliges Mutterland am Missouri in North Dakota sehen die Lakota-Sioux-Indianer durch den Bau einer Ölpipeline, der schwarzen Schlange, bedroht. Ureinwohner aller Stämme formieren sich Seite an Seite mit Umweltschützern und Menschenrechtsaktivisten im Standing-Rock-Reservat zum Protest.